top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureefranco1369

That Moment When You Realize...


Continuing to reflect on what we wanted to experience during the 2021 RV season, we knew that we would need a larger travel trailer or, if we dared to go even bigger, look into a fifth wheel. The problem was we didn't have a vehicle that would tow either. So, we began researching vehicles.






I have never been one to admire pickup trucks. Perhaps they remind me too much of the brief time during my childhood living in Idaho? Perhaps the stereotypical country song and the truck produced a caricature that set in me a bias for snobbery? Besides, I actually loved the Sequoia, which I bought specifically to replace my Toyota 4Runner due to it being insufficient to tow the 21' Jayco. But despite my endearment toward Toyota SUVs, I realized that if we wanted to tow a trailer larger than the Jayco, we absolutely needed a vehicle that was designed and optimized to tow...and that meant we needed a truck. In one last-ditch effort to keep the Sequoia, I call Lonny, the service manager at DiMaggio's -- the repair shop I've taken my vehicles to for almost 20 years (or more). I've developed a good working relationship with Lonny and Sterling, and they have always been straight, fair, and honest. So, I asked Lonny if there was any way possible to modify the Sequoia increase its towing capacity. He explained that the engine in the Sequoia was under-powered compared to most trucks designed for towing. In addition, the suspension system of the Toyota was shock-based, which could be upgraded, but doing so would completely derail the ride, meaning the vehicle would be stiff. Unlike other heavy-duty pickup trucks where additional leaf springs could be added, thus increasing the suspension strength, the Toyota was built for hauling kids, groceries, or an occasional big box item from Best Buy or Ikea. Lastly, Lonny explained that the other mechanical disadvantage with the Sequoia was the shorter drive train -- the torque needed to adequately and safely tow a trailer heavier than 5000 pounds was significantly more than what the Sequoia had to offer, not "...like a 2500 would." While I appreciated Lonny's honesty, I was disappointed that the truth of the matter was there would be no way getting around the issue; we needed a truck. Similar to the RV issue, we needed to research trucks. Ugh


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page